Friday, February 9, 2018

SmokeHouse 1991 Let's Swamp Awhile

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:34:58
Size: 79,95 MB

United States

review by Alex Henderson

Smokehouse was based in Central Florida, but Let's Swamp Awhile sounds like it could have been recorded in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. A gutsy blues-rock foursome, Smokehouse brings an obvious passion for electric Louisiana swamp blues to "It's Going On," "Sweet Little Woman," "Poontang Blues," and other excellent songs on this rewarding but obscure CD. Anthony "Packrat" Johnson's lead vocals and harmonica playing are consistently passionate, and guitarist Robert "Town Crier" Thomas never fails to excite. These Southerners clearly like their blues gritty, lowdown and rockin' -- an approach that serves them consistently well on Let's Swamp Awhile. It's just unfortunate that a band this impressive isn't much better known.


01 - It's Going On' 03:17

02 - Braggin' 'bout You Baby 03:37

03 - Big Mistake 03:27

04 - Fork In The Road 04:15

05 - Sweet Little Woman 03:04

06 - I Didn't Know 03:36

07 - Poontang Blues 03:34

08 - Evil Woman 03:05

09 - Skin It Back 03:17

10 - The Day Jack Frost Killed Parson Brown 03:46

Gamble for more SmokeHouse:

No comments: