Sunday, August 13, 2017

The Big Six 1998 We The Boys Will Rock Ya!

Genre: Rock & Roll
Rate: 192 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:05:15
Size: 89,70 MB

United Kingdom

To all the cats who can't put a finger on it...

...these guys are nowhere near anything like Duke Ellington, Benny Goodman, etc. I simply don't know what you're thinking to even compare the two. Honestly that's like comparing Britney Spears to Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young. Apples and oranges kiddies.

Rather, I guess you cats (and kittens as the case may be) haven't heard of Bill Haley and The Comets. That's who these guys are emulating from top to bottom. Six members in this outfit, same for Bill Haley. Spit curl haircuts, bow ties, plaid tuxes, etc. It's Bill Haley reborn. Marshall Lytle, Bill Haley's up-right bass player for years, even sat in with these guys on occassion. Oh, and would you like another history lesson? The cat banging the skins is Ricky Lee Brawn. Google his name. Then look out for other bands such as The Stargazers and, to an extent, The Jive Aces (although the Jive Aces try way too hard to and mix-up way too much scientology in their songs...go figure that one). But anyway, the guy who said this is something like a "sock hop" I guess got the closest to the mark with what The Big Six were/are all about. But still, Fabian and Sha-na-na these boys ain't. But, I guess there some of you fresh-pomps out there who actually think cats in the 40's and 50's actually listened to something like Tiger Army or The Rev. Here's a hint kiddies....they didn't.

Anyway, if you like Bill Haley and The Comets and heard more than "See You Later Alligator" or "Rock Around the Clock" (check out "Rocket 88," "Farewell, So Long, Goodbye," "Fractured," or "Thirteen Women" to start), you will definitely appreciate this. It's straight up, vintage rock and roll, jump blues and r&b, and everything else good you can imagine. (Jack Dempsey)


01 - We The Boys Will Rock Ya! 03:36

02 - The West Coast Jive 03:02

03 - Blue Moon 03:38

04 - Tell Me Baby 03:44

05 - Come Back Baby 04:18

06 - Master Blaster 02:45

07 - The Hup De-Bop 02:44

08 - No Way Out 03:08

09 - Hey Pretty Mama 02:22

10 - Sh Boom 03:53

11 - Eight Ball 03:16

12 - Hey Hey We're Gonna Rock It 04:05

13 - Cold Feet 03:23

14 - Giving My Love To You 03:14

15 - Brookshire Drive 02:24

16 - Mama 03:53

17 - She Can Really Move 03:18

18 - Magic Roundabout 02:44

19 - Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare 02:36

20 - Hammer It Down 03:12

Gamble for more The Big Six:


France Toad said...

I have downloaded some of your other posts. I report that this one always return that is "impossible to access this file ..." or something similar. I've tried a couple of time receiving the same message.

I think that is something wrong ...

Thanks in advance.
Thanks for all the blues and other magnific music you post. Yours is a fantastic blog.

The Bluesgambler said...

Checked the link and it works fine on my site. Can you please try it one more time. Otherwise you can try the mirror link which you get clicking the qr-code.

pmist said...

It is not possible to download the file. Thanks for the good work!

The Bluesgambler said...

Please take the zippy link. It is hidden behind the word "gamble" at the end of the post.

pmist said...

Thank you very much.