Sunday, July 2, 2017

James Armstrong 2000 Got It Goin' On

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:45:19
Size: 103,68 MB

United States

Review by Al Campbell

Got It Goin' On is an apt title for this third release from California bluesman James Armstrong. While his previous release, Dark Night, was steeped in a soul/blues vein, this album is a solid, stripped-down blues session. Armstrong's guitar chops (especially on slide guitar) and impassioned vocals continue to gain strength following the horrendous attack on his life in 1997. Making an encore appearance is guitarist Michael Ross, who blends in with the dominant role Armstrong assumes, while the keyboard work is provided by Jimmy Pugh of the Robert Cray Band. The majority of cuts were written or co-written by Armstrong, including the heartfelt ballad "Another Dream," the funky rocker "2 Sides," included in the movie Speechless, and the New Orleans-influenced "Mr. B's."


01 - Got It Goin' On 04:25

02 - Pennies And Picks 04:21

03 - Another Dream 05:21

04 - 2 Sides 03:46

05 - Mr. B's 03:28

06 - Love Can Make You Do Wrong 04:26

07 - Beat Up By Love 04:31

08 - Shut My Eyes 03:55

09 - Likes Her Lovin' 03:16

10 - Lucky Guy 04:15

11 - I'll Learn Sometime 03:35

Gamble for more James Armstrong:


No comments: