Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Blodwyn Pig 2000 The Basement Tapes

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:55:42
Size: 127,56 MB

United Kingdom

Previously unreleased BBC recordings from the former Jethro Tull guitarist, recorded 1969-1974. Plus two bonus tracks from 1996 (Tracks 12 & 13)

Like a lot of people, I approached Blodwyn Pig by way of Jethro Tull. Mick Abrahams was a 'force to contend with' in the original Tull line-up, and he and Ian Anderson came to loggerheads about the direction the group should take.

Abrahams split, but the group he formed was no mere spin-off. Blodwyn Pig was every bit the equal of Jethro Tull. Abrahams was and is a first-rate blues guitarist. His electric guitar stylings are instantly recognizable, and he is also a master of acoustic fingerstyle blues guitar. Sax and flute man Jack Lancaster shared Ian Anderson's fondness for imitating jazzman Roland Kirk. Lancaster even replicated Kirk's trick of playing two horns at the same time.

The tracks on Basement Tapes were drawn from BBC sessions that Blodwyn Pig did in 1969, and later in 1974 during an abortive attempt to reform the group ( the '74 edition of the band also includes former Jethro Tull drummer Clive Bunker.) These tunes fully illustrate just how eclectic a group Blodwyn Pig was. They feature guitar/sax passages that wail as hard as King Crimson's "21st Century Schizoid Man", plus examples of Abrahams' off the wall sense of humor (best example: "Mr.Green's Blues"). (Peter Baklava)


01 - The Modern Alchemist 04:49

02 - Mr.Green's Blues (Or Mr Blue's Green's) 03:50

03 - It's Only Love 03:32

04 - See My Way 05:56

05 - Blues Of A Dunstable Truck Driving Man 02:48

06 - Baby Girl 03:54

07 - The Leaving Song 04:54

08 - I Know 08:55

09 - It's Only Love (Live) 03:16

10 - See My Way (Live) 06:36

11 - Blues Of A Dunstable Truck Driving Man (Live) 02:10

12 - Hound Dog 02:21

13 - Drive Me 03:20

Gamble for more Blodwyn Pig:

No comments: