Saturday, May 27, 2017

Tom Hunter 1999 Big Thunder (LL)

Genre: Blues
Rate: 267 kbps VBR / 44100 from lossless source!
Time: 00:55:36
Size: 102,94 MB

United States

Although you can find Tom on a number of recordings, providing excellent keyboard work for other artists, this CD is all his. "Big Thunder," an eleven song, fifty-six minute effort by Tom, and some of the best musicians around, is an excellent example of great blues piano. The four original compositions take you on a journey of sorts, through loneliness, despair, and troubled relationships.

The song that grabs you first is "Stop," a story of regaining control, and taking charge of a life gone astray. These four Hunter originals are good blues songs. Rounding out the disc are a number of old favorites, including, "Bad Bad Whiskey," and "Smack Dab In The Middle." Tom put together a good group to take into the studio, Jon Gunvaldson (guitar), Rob Stupka (drums), Gordon Johnson (bass), and Kenni Holmen (sax). Together, they have produced a fine CD. You will also hear echo's of Charles Brown, as Tom has dedicated this CD to the memory of the late piano great, as well as to Tom's own children. A very good CD, highly recommended to blues piano buffs, and to all blues music lovers. (This review is copyright © 1999 by Michael Evan, and Blues On Stage)


01 - Stop 04:37

02 - Smack Dab In The Middle 05:31

03 - Fools Paradise 05:24

04 - B.T. Boogie 04:19

05 - Bad Bad Whiskey 04:38

06 - She's So Fine 05:03

07 - No One To Come Home To 04:17

08 - Goin' Down Slow 07:20

09 - Stumble 05:11

10 - Beer Drinkin' Woman 03:11

11 - Trouble In Mind 06:05

Gamble for more Tom Hunter:

No comments: