Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Morgan Davis 2011 Drive My Blues Away

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:45:08
Size: 103,31 MB

United States

Morgan Davis transports you back to an old juke joint on the Mississippi delta, a bar so bad they didn't hire a band, just a singer and drummer. It's the bare blues, stripped down from hustle of post-war Chicago. You can easily imagine you are listening to Robert Johnson, if he had an electric guitar, or Jimmy Reed.

"Drive My Blues Away" has songs by Robert Johnson, Lightning Hopkins, Rice Miller and Skip James along with some of Davis' own material.

The CD is very much like Morgan's live shows, basic without much ornamentation. Colin Linden plays guitar on "Happy Song". Franz plays percussion on "Sure As You Live." Seymour Townes plays harmonica. "When You Got A Good Friend" is performed on a cigar box guitar which is something Robert Johnson would have used. It's not a gimmick. It's mesmerizing. (Stephen Pate)


01 - Sure As You Live 04:28

02 - Thank You, Mr. Reed 02:40

03 - Anticipation 03:14

04 - When You Got A Good Friend 02:50

05 - Arlene 03:36

06 - The Money Men 04:15

07 - Dissatisfied 03:36

08 - Re-Break My Heart 03:22

09 - Love Puzzle 04:55

10 - Look Down The Road 02:04

11 - Drive My Blues Away 04:07

12 - Happy Song 02:56

13 - Ramblin' On My Mind 03:05

Gamble for more Morgan Davis:


No comments: