Monday, May 29, 2017

Dan Patlansky 2012 20 Stones (LL)

Genre: Blues-Rock
Rate: 281 kbps VBR / 44100 from lossless source!
Time: 00:47:23
Size: 91,07 MB

South Africa

On his latest studio effort, Dan Patlansky delivers a seriously fierce, fiery representation of his take on old-school blues and early rock. It’s a 10-track musical accomplishment that is sure to leave any blues fan wanting more of his work.

The album is a strong testament to Patlansky’s talent, and a welcome addition to any blues enthusiast’s library. With Patlansky himself a producer of the album, his creative control was certainly able to flourish and produce something genuinely his.

The title track turns out to be the one that contrasts the rest of the album’s material most sharply. “20 Stones” has no words, only nearly 5 sublime minutes of intermittently brooding and blistering acoustic fingerwork. It’s a welcome intermission in the swirling vortex of vicious blues licks, and my personal favorite track from the album. It’s certainly refreshing to see an artist take a break from the expected and do something unique, and the track’s unique contribution to the album as a whole definitely pays off.

20 Stones is an album that is bound to further enamor listeners already familiar with Patlansky’s work. For those that are hearing him for the first time, it’s a great representation of why he’s considered the top blues guitarist in South Africa. (


01 - Bring The World To It's Knees 05:45

02 - Bright Lights, Big City 04:41

03 - Bye Bye 04:29

04 - Daddy's Old Gun 04:17

05 - 20 Stones 04:20

06 - Lost Your Good Thing Now 08:54

07 - Slap In The Face 02:08

08 - Call Me The Breeze 02:58

09 - Too Late To Cry 04:10

10 - Cross Country Limping 05:41

Gamble for more Dan Patlansky: