Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Catfish Hodge Band 1979 Eyewitness Blues

Genre: Blues
Rate: 160 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:00:37
Size: 69,46 MB

United States

I ran across Catfish Hodge at a local club awhile back and he put on an outstanding one-man show. You could tell this blues man was feeling every note he played and every word he sang. As the show went on it became very evident that he was telling you the story of his life with each original song. As soon as I got home from the show I bought this CD. It was originally released in 1979 and also has 6 bonus tracks from an earlier released CD: BOUT WITH THE BLUES.

The CD is hard hitting and full of all the emotion of his live show. The track "Cold, Cold" will freeze your blood. I played it over and over, increasing the volume a little louder each time! The last song, "Can I Go Home" seems to sum up much of the sadness Catfish has felt in his life, and talked about at the show. Many of the tracks also have a 70's funky blues sound that is rather interesting and reminds me of R.L. Burnside's recent releases. I am surprised that more blues lovers are not talking about Catfish Hodge. (Curtis J. George)

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, and folks, that's the way it was. (Bob 'Catfish' Hodge)


01 - Blues Got The World 02:22

02 - Long Night 04:09

03 - Elmo's Blues 04:35

04 - Cold, Cold 05:51

05 - Louisiana Woman 03:34

06 - Bad News, Good News 04:29

07 - Every Day It Grows And Grows 03:08

08 - What The Woman Do 02:33

09 - Going Down Slow 03:36

10 - I-Re-Peat 03:18

11 - Black Cadilac 03:26

12 - Record Executive Blues 04:22

13 - To The Left 04:33

14 - So Tough 03:12

15 - Down Over The Border 03:40

16 - Can I Go Home 03:49

Gamble for more Catfish Hodge Band