Wednesday, March 1, 2017

Tom Rigney & Flambeau 2011 Don't Fight It

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:58:00
Size: 132,66 MB

United States

Review by Jonathan Widran

For those unfamiliar with violin great Tom Rigney's three-decade-long career as part of the Bay Area's roots music scene, Don't Fight It is a great "catch up" primer that offers a powerful showcase for his virtuoso fiddling, colorful vocals, and his band Flambeau's multi-faceted romp through everything from straight blues and sizzling Cajun to New Orleans and zydeco two-stepping.

The buoyant 13-track set jumps to life with a straightforward blues vocal ("Just Your Fool") before revving up for a bluesy swing romp driven by Rigney's dancing melodic violin ("Adeline Shuffle"). Rigney and his cohorts do some heavy moodswinging from there, starting with the sly, soulful instrumental "Snakewalk," going all boogie-woogie and comical on the vocal "Treat Me Like a Dog," and then getting downright gritty and poignant on the cleverly titled "The Clown and the Stripper." While Rigney's violin and vocals always manage to stand out, some tracks offer showcases for his formidable Flambeau foursome, particularly "Caroline's Boogie" and its irrepressible piano pounding by Caroline Dahl and the blazing twang of Danny Caron's guitar.

All in all, the set offers a splendid mix of vocals and instrumentals, taking the listener on a colorful journey full of wit, heartfelt emotion, and various stops along the road of Americana music.


01 - Just Your Fool 02:46

02 - Adeline Shuffle 04:42

03 - Snakewalk 04:23

04 - Treat Me Like A Dog 03:47

05 - The Clown And The Stripper 04:29

06 - Don't Fight It 04:08

07 - Caroline's Boogie 03:52

08 - Teardrops On Your Letter 04:48

09 - California Blues 04:34

10 - Rigo's Blues 05:37

11 - Bonjour Tristesse 05:21

12 - Blues For Vassar 05:00

13 - The Funky Gator 04:33

Gamble for more Tom Rigney & Flambeau


No comments: