Wednesday, February 22, 2017

The Incredible Blues Puppies 2005 Puppy Fat

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:33:39
Size: 77,03 MB

United Kingdom

The Incredible Blues Puppies is a name (and what a great name) that may be new to a lot of people but the guys who make up the Puppies should be very familiar with a celebrated musical pedigree. Alan Glen, vox, guitar and harmonica will be familiar from his work with the Yardbirds, Nine Below Zero, Little Axe and the Barcodes to name but a few. Jim Mercer, vox and bass, has been with Paul Lamb & the Kingsnakes, the Muddy Waters Band and Pinetop Perkins, Dino Coccia, drums, has playing credits galore including Larry Garner, James Carr, Tutu Jones and, of course, the Barcodes whilst John O’Reilly, vox & guitar, leads the Blues Engineers and has played with, amongst others, Big Town Playboys and Sugar Blue.

Puppy Fat is, in my opinion, a really cracking debut CD from a grouping which really works so well featuring, as it does, two excellent but very contrasting guitar styles from Alan and John plus three vocalists. Variety is the key word with some superb covers such as the excellent “T Bone Jumps Again”, a wonderful version of Taj Mahal’s “Good Morning Miss Brown”, Jim Mercer’s lovely arrangement of the Fred McDowell track, “61 Highway”, G L Crockett’s “Man Down There”, one of several tracks which features one of the CD’s two producers, Roger Cotton with some lovely Hammond, Rosco Gordon’s “Just A Little Bit” and Kim Wilson’s “Walking My Baby”.

There is also a handful of original material ranging from the angst laden and very wry Dino Coccia composition “Angle of Dissent” through a wonderful instrumental which is also the title track (“Puppy Fat”) credited to all four band members a Jim Mercer arrangement of another Dino Coccia song “7 Years Too Late”, a song about the aftermath of scratching the seven year itch and the rocking and oh so catchy opener, “Another Kind Of Love”, which is credited to Glen/Greaves/O’Neill/Giddings/McAvoy.

The CD has a great range of material, all of which should please Blues lovers of all creeds and genres and really makes wonderful listening. Alan plays some superb harmonica and both his & John’s guitar work is great to listen to and most enjoyable. John’s guitar is contrasting but every bit as enjoyable whilst Jim & Dino make every track live with their spot on rhythms. Other guests include fellow Barcoder Bob Haddrell on vocals and Wurlitzer and Dave Briggs who guests on vocals and guitar. The overall result is a CD which should find a place in everyone’s collection and certainly makes me very keen to catch this talented combo live before too long. (Ashwyn Smyth)


01 - Another Kinda Love 03:30

02 - Good Morning Miss Brown 03:17

03 - Puppy Fat 03:24

04 - Angle Of Dissent 03:44

05 - Man Down There 03:04

06 - T Bone Jumps Again 02:40

07 - 61 Highway 04:51

08 - Just A Little Bit 02:56

09 - Walking To My Baby 02:33

10 - 7 Years Too Late 03:40

Gamble for more The Incredible Blues Puppies