Thursday, February 16, 2017

Ten Years After 1971 A Space In Time (LL)

Genre: Blues-Rock
Rate: 261 kbps VBR / 44100 from lossless source!
Time: 00:37:41
Size: 70,16 MB

United Kingdom

What sets this release apart from earlier TYA albums is the liberal use of tasty acoustic guitar and plenty of sound effects and studio tricks that complement the overall texture. From tuning a radio dial to open a 12-bar boogie blaster (Baby, Won't You Let Me Rock and Roll You) to backward tape solos (Let The Sky Fall) to 50's Sci-Fi (Here They Come), Alvin Lee and Company were in top form on this 1971 "Time Capsule". Lee also shows that he was no slouch on harmonica as he belts out the blues harp (One Of These Days) along with the nice licks from his trusty hot-rodded Gibson ES-335's. Lee's lyrics ran the full gamut on this collection, from country honk (Once There Was A Time) to otherworldly beings "who fly out of the sun", and "know everything we must learn" (Here They Come). He sings painfully about the pitfalls of drug addiction, but optimistically about recovery (Hard Monkeys, I've Been There Too) and tells us that he notices the World's ills but doesn't know what to do, so he "leaves it up to you" (I'd Love to Change the World).

Leo Lyons (Bass), Chick Churchill (Keyboards) and Ric Lee (Drums) are excellent as usual. This is the one that occupied a particular "Space in Time" for its era, and gets my vote as the best overall TYA album due to the diversity of the material and subject matter. There's just about something for everyone. (Douglas J. Hultsman)


01 - One Of These Days 05:58

02 - Here They Come 04:35

03 - I'd Love To Change The World 03:45

04 - Over The Hill 02:29

05 - Baby Won't You Let Me Rock 'n' Roll You 02:15

06 - Once There Was A Time 03:23

07 - Let The Sky Fall 04:21

08 - Hard Monkeys 03:11

09 - I've Been There Too 05:46

10 - Uncle Jam 01:58

Gamble for more Ten Years After


1 comment:

gustavo malvarez said...

Disco extraordinario de los setenta y de uno de los grupos pioneros dentro del Rock, EXELENTE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!