Monday, February 20, 2017

Bowling Green John Cephas & Harmonica Phil Wiggins 1986 Dog Days Of August

Genre: Blues
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:41:16
Size: 75,55 MB

United States

This release by the acclaimed Piedmont blues duo of "Bowling Green" John Cephas and "Harmonica" Phil Wiggins really put them on the map. Recorded entirely in the living room of Cephas's self-built house in rural Virginia, the selections on this album were all laid down in a single night, with no overdubs whatsoever.

From the haunting dirge of Skip James' "Hard Time Killing Floor" to the rousing sing-a-long spirit of "Roberta," this release has graced my stereo well over a hundred times, and I never tire of it. "John Henry" is a favorite, the classic traditional given almost best-ever treatment, and "Stagger Lee" comes in close behind. Other recommended cuts are the title cut, "Reno Factory," and "Cherryball" -- also penned by James.

Cephas, with his honey-cured baritone, has a singularly beautiful voice -- rich and expressive with lots of soul, and his guitar picking -- the distinctive thumb-and-forefinger picking of the Piedmont tradition, is heralded around the world. (Taylor guitars put him on the cover of their catalog in 1997.)

Wiggins is an incredibly fleet and dexterous harmonica player, providing near perfect counterpoint to Cephas's playing and singing, and will leave many fellow harmonica players gasping at his weaves and runs. (a customer)


01 - Reno Factory 04:20

02 - Cherryball 05:27

03 - Dog Days Of August 05:13

04 - Staggerlee 06:19

05 - Hard Time Killing Floor Blues 05:17

06 - John Henry 05:40

07 - I Saw The Light 04:11

08 - Roberta 04:49

Gamble for more Bowling Green John Cephas & Harmonica Phil Wiggins


No comments: