Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Nina Simone 1967 High Priestess Of Soul

Genre: Jazz
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:35:53
Size: 82,13 MB

United States

Review by Richie Unterberger

Perhaps a bit more conscious of contemporary soul trends than her previous Philips albums, this is still very characteristic of her mid-'60s work in its eclectic mix of jazz, pop, soul, and some blues and gospel. Hal Mooney directs some large band arrangements for the material on this LP without submerging Simone's essential strengths. The more serious and introspective material is more memorable than the good-natured pop selections here. The highlights are her energetic vocal rendition of the Oscar Brown/Nat Adderley composition "Work Song" and her spiritual composition "Come Ye," on which Simone's inspirational vocals are backed by nothing other than minimal percussion.


01 - Don't You Pay Them No Mind 03:05

02 - I'm Gonna Leave You 02:19

03 - Brown Eyed Handsome Man 02:06

04 - Keeper Of The Flame 03:23

05 - The Gal From Joe's 02:47

06 - Take Me To The Water 02:50

07 - I'm Going Back Home 02:53

08 - I Hold No Grudge 02:22

09 - Come Ye 03:39

10 - He Ain't Coming Home No More 03:13

11 - Work Song 03:09

12 - I Love My Baby 04:07

Gamble for more Nina Simone

No comments: