Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Nina Simone 1959 The Amazing Nina Simone (LL)

Genre: Jazz
Rate: 291 kbps VBR / 44100 from lossless source!
Time: 00:47:15
Size: 92,03 MB

United States

Review by Scott Yanow

There is a remarkable amount of variety on this disc, Nina Simone's second recording. Her repertoire ranges from a swinging "Stompin' at the Savoy" and an emotional "It Might as Well Be Spring" to an English folk ballad ("Tomorrow"), spirituals, an R&B song ("You've Been Gone Too Long") and the theme song from the movie Middle of the Night. Somehow Simone brings credibility to each of these very different songs. She does not play much piano (just cameos on two songs) and is backed by a subtle orchestra arranged by Bob Mersey that is effective accompanying her vocals. This session finds Nina Simone's voice in top form and with a few exceptions is generally jazz-oriented.


01 - Blue Prelude 03:22

02 - Children Go Where I Send You 02:53

03 - Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More) 03:03

04 - Stompin' At The Savoy 02:10

05 - It Might As Well Be Spring 03:57

06 - You've Been Gone Too Long 02:11

07 - That's Him Over There 02:33

08 - Chilly Winds Don't Blow 02:48

09 - Theme From 'The Middle Of The Night' 02:31

10 - Can't Get Out Of This Mood 02:34

11 - Willow Weep For Me 03:14

12 - Solitaire 03:25

13 - I Loves You Porgy 04:07

14 - Falling In Love Again (Can't Help It) 02:40

15 - That's All 02:27

16 - The Man With A Horn 03:20

Gamble for more Nina Simone

No comments:

Post a Comment