Tuesday, October 4, 2016

Zach Williams & The Reformation 2009 Electric Revival

Genre: Southern Rock
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:44:34
Size: 101,99 MB

United States

The album title's instructive: this Jonesboro, Arkansas, outfit serves up a Southern rock-fueled brand of electric R&B, and in the band's intense delivery one whiffs the holy-rollin' fire and brimstone of an old-school tent revival. It's not a matter of small consequence, either; Zach Williams and the Reformation is so outrageously out of fashion as to be a genuine alternative to whatever passes as "alternative" these days.

So don't look for any traces of blip-hop, hoodie-approved indiecentricity or world-beat mashups here. Instead, you're gonna get a dose of pure, unfiltered rawk like your bellbottoms-clad mama used to sing to ya as a tyke, from the iconic likes of the Allmans, Derek & the Dominoes and Humble Pie to such latterday practitioners as the Black Crowes, Gov't Mule and the North Mississippi Allstars. Hold that last thought - NMAS guitarist Luther Dickinson sits in on album centerpiece "Angel With A Broken Wing," an epic-in-feel, waltz-time blooze featuring sinewy slide guitar in one speaker and eerie tremolo riffs in the other as Williams, possessed of a soulful, coal-black set of pipes, summons up the ghosts of Muscle Shoals while paying tribute to a fallen darlin' who still wields the power to set him free.

Elsewhere the band channels its inner Skynyrd (the Hammond B3-fueled "Can U Feel Me"), serves up some righteous, Leon Russell-styled gospel ("Take Me Home," which, like "CUFM," features lovely gal backing vox), and puts the pedal to the metal in a glorious explosion of hard-edged psychedelia ("Midnite Ride"). Throughout, there's a vibe of utter commitment on the part of Williams & Co., as if they're intent on adding an additional context to their album title: sometimes, some places, you just gotta reclaim a vintage form, damn the finger-wagging hipsters, and bring it back up and into the present. That, these guys do, in spades. FRED MILLS


01 - Set You Free 04:16

02 - Fools Gold 04:22

03 - Can U Feel Me 04:51

04 - Empty Dreams 04:10

05 - Stronger 03:01

06 - Angel With A Broken Wing (Featuring Luther Dickinson) 06:26

07 - Two More Days 04:12

08 - Without You 03:22

09 - Take Me Home 05:01

10 - Midnite Ride 04:53

Gamble for more Zach Williams & The Reformation


No comments: