Sunday, October 23, 2016

Eric Street Band 2009 The Route To The Blues

Genre: Blues
Rate: 278 kbps VBR / 44100 from lossless source!
Time: 00:52:01
Size: 101,15 MB

United Kingdom

Looking at the personnel, this is presumably some kind of offshoot of the well known Reading based Southside Blues Band. I would have to say that this is the most mature, polished and well produced piece of material I have heard thus far from vocalist and co-writer of eight of the nine featured tracks, Dennis Siggery.

Only nine tracks, but, with a playing time of over fifty minutes, its good value. For the most part it’s slow to medium paced and fairly gritty, contemporary stuff, all dominated with an earthy vibrato vocal style that reminds you of a certain Roger Chapman. Also on his best form is fellow scribe and lead guitarist Neil Sadler. The album title could be a bit misleading to some. Although there is undoubtedly a Blues influence to the album, much of the music has moved into a more mainstream position. As well as a handful of songs concerning relationships, we have a bit of social commentary on drugs, with ‘The Habit’ and ‘Sweet Cocaine’; a little political jibe with ‘Mr Fat Cat’; and a swipe at TV in ‘The Reality Show’.

If you don’t already have any of Mr Siggery’s material then this is definitely worth a listen. (Thomas Rankin)


01 - All I Wanted 06:11

02 - The Wrong Road 05:16

03 - The Habit 05:41

04 - Mr. Fat Cat 06:15

05 - I Need A Lover 06:14

06 - Sweet Cocaine 05:56

07 - Reconsider Baby 07:18

08 - Ride With Me 05:40

09 - The Reality Show 03:30

Gamble for more Eric Street Band