Sunday, September 25, 2016

Cathy Jean 1995 Tear Me Apart

Genre: Blues
Rate: 263 kbps VBR / 44100 from lossless source!
Time: 00:50:31
Size: 92,89 MB

United States

On this self-released CD Cathy Jean demonstrates her unique vocal prowess and her love of, and feel for, the blues. Jean insisted on recording live in the studio with very few over dubs. As a result, "Tear Me Apart" has a loose, spontaneous feel. At times, such as on "Ain't That Livin' You", Cathy Jean's vocals are reminiscent of the late, great Janis Joplin. A little thin in the higher part of her register, she nevertheless puts a song across with soul and feeling. Her detectable influences include Ruth Brown and Dinah Washington. Jean can rock out, as evidenced on "Rock This House" and "Who Do You Love", and be sweet and sensual on tunes such as "Do Nothing 'Til You Hear From Me", the classic Billie Holiday tune that she manages to make her own. A promising debut. (Elena Skye, Blues Revue Magazine)


01 - Trouble No More 03:50

02 - Hello Little Boy 02:44

03 - Ain't That Lovin' You 03:20

04 - That's All Right 03:48

05 - Baby, Get Lost 02:49

06 - Rock This House 02:44

07 - One Good Man 06:08

08 - Momma, Talk To Your Daughter 02:10

09 - I'm A Man 03:54

10 - Who Do You Love 03:26

11 - Sweet Blood Call 04:13

12 - Rollin' And Tumblin' 03:43

13 - You The Kind Of Women 04:53

14 - Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me 02:49

Gamble for more Cathy Jean