Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Muddy Magnolias 2016 Brother, What Happened? (video)

Broken People, the debut full-length album from acclaimed duo Muddy Magnolias, will be released October 14 on Third Generation Records.

In advance of the release, the official music video for the album’s first single, “Brother, What Happened?” premiered yesterday at NPR Music and can now be viewed/shared HERE.

Of the video, NPR Music’s Ann Powers praises, “The video for ‘Brother’ evokes familiar scenes from the struggle for civil rights alongside more personal encounters between lovers and family members. Most important, though, is that central visual of Wilson and North standing face to face, singing into each other’s hearts the way believers always do. It’s stirring, and it’s absolutely needed right now. As is the whole mission of Muddy Magnolias: to encourage harmony by making glorious music in its name.”

Produced by Rick Beato (with additional production by Mario Marchetti and Butch Walker), the 11-track album was recorded in Atlanta, GA and Nashville, TN in late spring 2016. In addition to “Brother, What Happened?” highlights include the album’s closing track, “Leave It To The Sky,” which features special guest John Legend on piano and vocals.

Already receiving widespread attention, ELLE magazine describes the duo as, “a country, soul, and R&B cocktail,” while SPIN asserts, “Muddy Magnolias are a funky hybrid of traditional soul and countrified rock. Jessy Wilson has the soul of Mavis Staples and the range of Nina Simone, while Kallie North brings her Mississippi roots to the forefront with a sweet, honeyed texture. While the delivery may go down smooth, North has the verve and passion of Joplin…” and Rolling Stone raves, “…capitalizes on powerhouse vocals, no-holds-barred harmonies and a vibe that's like the Band Perry raised on Aretha Franklin—performed as if Mick Jagger and Keith Richards inhabited the Indigo Girls.”

Muddy Magnolias are Kallie North and Jessy Wilson. Each with their own distinctive and unique background (North with roots in southeast Texas and the Mississippi Delta and Wilson born and raised in Brooklyn), the two were brought together in Nashville through improbable circumstances and immediately forged an unlikely friendship and musical partnership.

Of their initial collaboration and the music that has resulted, North comments, “The first day we wrote together, there wasn’t much thought that we were blending genres and worlds. That never came up. It was just natural. Ultimately, this album is a result of an unlikely friendship and is a testament to what can happen when you diversify your relationships.” Wilson adds, “It’s about getting out of your comfort zone and being rewarded with a great friendship. We’ve both felt the power of that.”

Since they met in 2013, Muddy Magnolias have toured with The Zac Brown Band and Gary Clark Jr. and have performed at Lollapalooza, Hangout Festival, etc. The band will hit the road this summer and fall, including a special showcase at NYC’s Mercury Lounge on August 23. Additional tour dates to be announced soon.


1. Broken People
2. Brother, What Happened?
3. Got It Goin’ On
4. Why Don’t You Stay?
5. Take Me Home
6. Shine On!
7. It Ain’t Easy
8. I Need A Man
9. Devil’s Teeth
10. Train
11. Leave It To The Sky (featuring John Legend)


August 23—New York, NY—Mercury Lounge
August 26—Paola, KS—Paola Roots Festival
January 30—Puerto Aventuras, Mexico—Hard Rock Hotel
February 6—Tampa, FL—Keeping The Blues Alive At Sea

For more information, please contact:



This information was sent to me by:

Asha Goodman and Carla Sacks at Sacks & Co.

No comments: