Wednesday, July 13, 2016

Paul Lamb & The King Snakes 2007 Snakes & Ladders

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:55:32
Size: 127,02 MB

United Kingdom

There is absolutely no doubt, especially to anyone whose ever seen Paul Lamb & The King Snakes, they are one of the best live bands there are, and if you can't get to a 'gig near you' as they say then this is the place to start. This is a stonking live set recorded in 2006 at the Tivoli Theatre in Wimborne, Dorset and see's the band giving one of their legendary cracking performances, lead by multi award winning Paul Lanb on harmonica and his band including one of the finest vocalists anywhere on the modern blues scene Chad Stentz, an excellent guitarist also along with the finest of rhythm sections around in bassist Rod Demick and drummer Sonny Below. On much of this set Paul's joined by his highly talented son Ryan, no not on harmonica but guitar.

We have a set of 11 songs that jump, wail and surge out of the speakers, a King Snakes set is not full of twelve bar blues but is a rip roaring party that gets any audience up and dancing. This set includes original numbers and a few covers all given the PL treatment, but all guaranteed to please. 'I Got A Woman' the old Ray Charles classic's included, Eddie Jones blues song 'The Things I Used To Do' not to mention Muddy water's 'Mojo workin' here given a new lease of life by the band, plus a real jewel of a track in their cover of Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee's 'You Better Mind' (worth the price of the album alone) and a superb version of the great Ma Rainey song, 'Easy Rider'. Of the self written songs the opening 'Crazy For Me' and 'Mr. Lambs Jump' give Paul's awesome harp playing full vent. Here we have a man who's won so many harmonica player of the year awards, that he was given an honour award to give some others a chance but he still reigns supreme. The band write great material, plus the covers to give us here one wonderful slice of live and powerful blues, oh and I shouldn't fail to mention the other guitarist in the band one, Paul De Pedro Marinero, half a dozen of the best in the music business blowing up a storm on this excellent live CD. (Pete Clack)


01 - Crazy For Me 06:37

02 - Money World 03:18

03 - Adopted Child 09:05

04 - Far Far Away 04:59

05 - Things I Used To Do 04:54

06 - Sweet Sweet Woman 05:11

07 - You Better Mind 03:20

08 - Easy Rider 03:56

09 - I Got My Mojo Workin' 05:28

10 - Mr. Lamb's Jump 04:12

11 - I Got A Woman 04:32

Gamble for more Paul Lamb & The King Snakes


No comments: