Monday, June 6, 2016

Evelyn Rubio Y Calvin Owens Orquestra Azul 2007 La Mujer Que Canta Blues

Genre: Blues
Rate: 192 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:56:38
Size: 77,71 MB

Mexico United States

The blues is a language all its own, as easily translated as the titles on Evelyn Rubio’s La Mujer Que Canta Blues: “Fiesta de Blues,” “El Gato,” “Las Manos de Mi Hombre,” and, um, “Swing Boogie.” (Hard to believe there’s no Spanish phrase for “boogie all night,” but there you go.) Fronting former B. B. King trumpeter and Bayou City blues fixture Calvin Owens’s “Orquestra Azul,” Mexico City native Rubio has a big, brassy voice similar to Christina Aguilera’s circa Back to Basics, but she dials it down for ballroom ballads like “Solo Eres Tu” or “Lo Que Tu Pierdes” — which English-speakers will (hopefully) recognize as Barbara Lynn’s Gulf Coast gem “You’ll Lose a Good Thing.” Owens steps out front for a pair of saucy solos on “El Gato,” Rubio saxes it up herself on “Las Manos de Mi Hombre” and the pair engage in some engaging back-and-forth on “Amor en Charola de Plata.” One or two tracks might stray a little too far into dentist-office territory, but anyone who enjoys their blues with plenty of swinging sabor will be more than satisfied. (Chris Gray)


01 - La Mujer Que Canta Blues 04:10

02 - Fiesta De Blues 03:32

03 - Francine 03:29

04 - Lo Que Tu Pierdes 04:34

05 - Las Manos De Mi Hombre 03:42

06 - Un Blues Que Cantar 03:23

07 - El Gato 04:29

08 - Houston Es El Lugar Para Mi 04:16

09 - Solo Eres Tu 04:24

10 - De Pie Otra Vez 04:15

11 - Amor En Charola De Plata 05:05

12 - Swing Boogie 03:27

13 - Desde Que Te Encontre 04:20

14 - Me Dejo Contando Un Triste Blues 03:32

Gamble for more Evelyn Rubio Y Calvin Owens Orquestra Azul


No comments: