Friday, June 24, 2016

Chris Thomas King 1998 Red Mud

Genre: Blues
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:54:20
Size: 99,38 MB

United States

Review by Cub Koda

The son of Louisiana bluesman Tabby Thomas makes an acoustic with real bite to it on this outing. Daddy Tabby joins him for a remake of "Hoodoo Party" and "Bus Station Blues," but for the rest of the album, it's mostly Chris working out on various resonator dobro guitars and harmonica. Besides nine of his originals on this 14-tracker, he boldly takes on a pair of Robert Johnson tunes ("Rambling On My Mind" and "Come On In My Kitchen") and Son House's "Death Letter Blues" in the midst of contemporary offerings like the urban "Alive" and the poppish "Wanna Die With a Smile On My Face." There's just as much of a folk vibe to this session as there is a blues one, and the blend works well for Thomas' all-encompassing style.


01 - Red Mud 04:11

02 - If It Ain't One Thing, It's Two 04:00

03 - Soon This Morning Blues 03:50

04 - Come On In My Kitchen 04:24

05 - I'm On Fire 03:31

06 - Sinking Feeling 03:04

07 - Alive 03:45

08 - Dark Cloud 03:19

09 - Hoodoo Party 03:44

10 - Rambling On My Mind 03:05

11 - Wanna Die With A Smile On My Face 02:53

12 - Death Letter Blues 05:27

13 - Bus Station Blues 04:07

14 - Raining Angels 05:00

Gamble for more Chris Thomas King

No comments: