Saturday, April 16, 2016

Powerhouse 1990 Night Life & Lovin' Machine

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:04:50
Size: 148,26 MB

United States

Album Notes

The 1970's were exciting times for live music. Regional bands from all over the country were melding blues, rock and R&B influences into a style that would bring many to national prominence. In the Northeast, the Boston-based Powerhouse was a standard bearer for this hard drivin' soulful sound. Powerhouse endlessly toured the club and college circuit before finally disbanding in 1977.

As a group, Powerhouse's firepower was awesome. led by George Leh's incendiary vocals and the guitar wizardry of Tom Principato, Powerhouse blew most bands off the stage with their sheer strength, musicianship and feel. As the Unicorn Times said in describing one of their shows: "There would be George Leh, a great R&B shouter, letting loose his tremendous voice, magnificent in it's power and terrible in it's sweeping scope. Guitarist Tom Principato would unwind his patented melodic, looping solos, sounding as if Charlie Christian, T-Bone Walker, Albert Collins, and Les Paul were holding a summit meeting inside him".

Powerhouse released it's first album "Night Life" in late 1975, and continued to tour for several years before finally disbanding. Escalating response and requests for sales resulted in it's re-issue in re-maixed LP form in 1983, and a re-mastered CD version in 1990. And as fans around the world clamored for more another album was readied for release.

Lovin' Machine includes different versions of the title track and "Hard Times" than were included on the first LP, a number of other unreleased tunes, and two very live songs recorded before a very enthusiastic Washington, DC audience. Both original albums are combined on this single CD.


01 - Powerhouse 02:11

02 - Lovin' Machine 02:27

03 - Bloodshot Eyes 03:50

04 - Hard Times 04:21

05 - Quiet Whiskey 02:38

06 - Nosey Joe 03:06

07 - Safronia B 02:23

08 - Roller Coaster 03:33

09 - Jailbird 04:26

10 - Shut Your Mouth 02:43

11 - Night Life 06:03

12 - Sweet Little Woman 03:06

13 - Stompin' At The Savoy 04:08

14 - Flip, Flop & Fly 03:43

15 - Sad Hours 05:01

16 - Fever 07:38

17 - Saved 03:33

Gamble for more Powerhouse


No comments: