Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Artie 'Bluesboy' White 1997 Home Tonight

Genre: Blues
Rate: 256 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:44:01
Size: 80,54 MB

United States

Artie White serves up another serving of first rate soul-blues on this 1997 Waldoxy release, Home Tonight. Material or production wise, this is a typical Malaco/Waldoxy set, with a tight band of guitarists, Big Mike Griffin and Williams Andrew Thomas, bassist David Hood, keyboard whiz Clayton Ivey and drummer and co-producer Paul H. Lee.

Add the Muscle Shoals Horns on the uptempo soulful opening number, when Artie tells his woman not to worry because "Your Man Is Home Tonight." It's followed by two straight-forward slow blues, "Somebody's Fool," and a terrific new Travis Haddix authored song, "Man of the House," where Artie tells his woman he's in a bad mood this morning and he just doesn't give a damn, with Big Mike taking a nice stinging solo. The mood is reversed in Percy Strother's soulful "If You Don't Love Me," sung from the point of view of the woman whose man is too often out of the house, warning that there is someone to take her man's place. The blues dominates this album with Johnson and Mosley contributing "Black Cat Scratchin'" as well as "The More You Lie to Me," a tasty number set to a Jimmy Reed groove on which Bobby Rush adds nice harp (he also adds harp to the closing country-flavored soulballad, "One Step From the Blues.")

Waldoxy has hit the mark on this set. White is in terrific form and he's given strong lyrics to work with on this release.


01 - Your Man Is Home Tonight 04:19

02 - Somebody's Fool 04:22

03 - Man Of The House 05:30

04 - If You Don't Love Me 03:16

05 - Black Cat Scratchin' 05:38

06 - High Steppin' Mama 04:00

07 - The More You Lie To Me 03:39

08 - Second Chance 04:22

09 - Feet Must Be Tired 04:41

10 - One Step From The Blues 04:14

Gamble for more Artie 'Bluesboy' White


No comments: