Monday, March 28, 2016

The Dirty Dozen Brass Band 2006 What's Going On

Genre: New Orleans
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:39:56
Size: 91,37 MB

United States

This is a seriously good album. It has some of the fattest brass I have experienced in many a short summer. Colliery bands take it on board, this is how to make an elephant skid across South Shields sands on a north wind caressed summers day when your sheet music is all over the Tyne and your bugle sounds like a car back firing. This is as much homage to the resilience of New Orleans post Hurricane Katrina and that tells you what this band brings to its music. It is a good reworking of Marvin Gaye's "What's Going On" - which you either love or listen too with indifference. But it has good songs with searching questions set in the lyrics, which were ahead of the time in which they were written.

But here, "The Dirty Dozen Brass Band" don't just pay homage-they let rip. There are no misses. All tracks deliver. Different styles, yes-but quality from first note to last. Love the whomping big elephantine brass on "What's Going On". It works for me. Five stars and all of `em gold. (Belgo Geordie)


01 - What's Going On (feat. Chuck D) 04:29

02 - What's Happening Brother (feat. Bettye Lavette) 02:53

03 - Flyin' High (In The Friendly Sky) 05:07

04 - Save The Children 05:15

05 - God Is Love (feat. Ivan Neville) 04:31

06 - Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) (feat. G. Love) 03:24

07 - Right On 04:29

08 - Wholy Holy 03:37

09 - Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) (feat. Guru) 06:11

Gamble for more The Dirty Dozen Brass Band

No comments: