Tuesday, March 15, 2016

John Nemeth 2007 Magic Touch

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:44:29
Size: 101,74 MB

United States

Ironic originals, killer covers, unbridled harp squeals, and golden (almost Aaron Neville-esque) vocals make the disc sound distinctly retro, yet strangely modern. The album runs the gamut of blues and R&B. Covers include Junior Wells' 'Blues Hit Big Town,' Roger Collins' 'She's Lookin' Good' (think Wilson Pickett's wailing version), Willie Egan's 'Come On' (rearranged as ska-soul with mariachi-style trumpet), Watson's 'My Future,' Z.Z. Hill's 'You Were Wrong,' and Buddy Guy's 'Sit and Cry (The Blues)'. The originals are just as heavy; it's as if Nemeth entered a time machine and wrote them five decades ago. The Fats Domino-style 'You're An Angel' is about an old girlfriend with a super-sized ego. 'Let Me Hold You' features a scratching, schizophrenic solo from Funderburgh - his only guitar track on the album. 'Blue Broadway' takes a page from classic Stax. (Blues Revue)


01 - Blues Hit Big Town 03:40

02 - Blue Broadway 03:28

03 - Magic Touch 03:51

04 - My Future 03:21

05 - She's Looking Good 02:53

06 - She Did Not Show 04:19

07 - You're An Angel 03:35

08 - Sit & Cry The Blues 04:09

09 - You Were Wrong 03:33

10 - Let Me Hold You 04:44

11 - Up To No Good 03:41

12 - Come On 03:15

Gamble for more John Nemeth

No comments: