Thursday, February 25, 2016

Roy Buchanan 2001 Deluxe Edition

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:01:06
Size: 139,73 MB

United States

Review by Hal Horowitz

The third non-crossed licensed anthology from the master guitarist focuses on his three-album stint at Chicago's blues-based Alligator Records. The artist considered the music he made during his 1985-1987 association with the label the most honest of his career. Since he received complete creative control on these discs, his 1988 suicide, a short year after Hot Wires -- one of Roy Buchanan's best albums ever -- was released, makes his untimely death even more shocking.

With its 16 tracks -- two previously unreleased -- almost evenly divided between instrumentals and (predominantly) guest vocals shared by Otis Clay, Delbert McClinton, and Johnny Sayles (Buchanan tentatively and gruffly talks/sings three selections), this is not only a terrific overview of the musician's astounding guitar virtuosity, but a sad coda to a short yet intense career that never broke him through to a wide audience. "You know I ain't broke, but I'm badly bent" are not only lyrics to "Ain't No Business," but also the sad state of affairs the artist found himself in as he was recording his final disc. With a completely unique guitar style that effortlessly shifted from a crying moan (as in the opening bars) to his cover of Otis Redding's "These Arms of Mine" to a raging howl -- exemplified by the thumping take on Willie Dixon's "You Can't Judge a Book by the Cover" -- Buchanan effectively covered all the blues-soul-rock bases with passion, integrity, and class. His economy of style is obvious in the concentrated 2:29 track (and appropriately titled) instrumental "Whiplash."

Although the guitarist's material was often subpar on his two previous labels, the music he recorded during these three years was top-notch, and consistently throbbed with his trademarked rugged, steely tone. While he occasionally stooped to slinging out a wild flurry of fret-shredding cacophony, as in the middle of "Peter Gunn," just to provide proof of his jaw-dropping abilities, Buchanan more frequently kept those more ostentatious impulses in check. There's none of the gospel and low-key country he often dipped into during his Polydor years, yet the essence of those genres is embedded in his blues and R&B work here.

This Alligator Deluxe Edition features rare photos, adequate track information, and a heartfelt remembrance penned by label boss Bruce Iglauer. At 61 minutes, only its playing time is questionable, since there easily could have been another quarter-hour of music added. Still, for those who need a concise compilation of Roy Buchanan's phenomenal skills with no filler, this handy disc fits the bill.


01 - Peter Gunn 03:19

02 - That Did It 05:08

03 - Chicago Smokeshop 05:01

04 - Mrs. Pressure 04:39

05 - Ain't No Business 03:20

06 - Blues For Jimmy Nolen 02:24

07 - A Nickel And A Nail 04:29

08 - Matthew 02:04

09 - You Can't Judge A Book By It's Cover 03:23

10 - Beer Drinking Woman 04:48

11 - Flash Chordin' 04:11

12 - These Arms Of Mine 05:19

13 - Whiplash 02:29

14 - When A Guitar Plays The Blues 06:38

15 - Hawaiians Punch 01:53

16 - The Last Word 02:01

Gamble for more Roy Buchanan


1 comment:

rintesh said...

Thanks for sharing.