Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Michael Hill's Blues Mob 2003 Electric Storyland - Live

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:51:57
Size: 256,05 MB

United States

This is Michael Hill's first live recording and it is featured here on two discs. Disc 1 was recorded on a Saturday at the Roadhouse in NY while disc 2 was recorded Sunday at the Union Hall. Disc 1 opens with Hill's tribute to September 11 "Heart Of New York" which features some pretty remarkable guitar soloing. That song sets the stage for some Hill stories including one of Thomas Jefferson's purported illegitimate children in "Monticello Nights" to cautioning listeners to not let anyone take your freedom away in "Blessings". Disc 2 is pretty much the same opening with "Something in the Sky" and preceding on through "Young Folks Blues" a depressing take on children today featuring Ana Popovic. Michael uses the blues as a political forum much as Bob Dylan, Michelle Shock and others used Folk for that purpose. From a musical perspective, the band is tight and the playing is superb. Lyrically, however, some may have a hard time accepting Michael's political statements and his point of view as something to sing along to. (deepbluereview)



01 - Heart Of New York 05:30

02 - Ready For The Blues 05:59

03 - Monticello Nights 06:51

04 - Let's Talk About The Weather 07:06

05 - Women Make The World Go 'round 05:44

06 - Undercover 06:55

07 - Grandmother's Blues 05:49

08 - Terrible Twos 05:54

09 - Blessings 05:28


01 - Something On The Sky 04:46

02 - Bloodlines Trilogy - Why We Play The Blues - Can't Recall A Time - Hard Blues For Hard Times 11:24

03 - Heat On The Highway 06:14

04 - Evil In The Air 08:26

05 - Chocolate Cream Jam - Sunshine Of Your Love - Crossroads 10:51

06 - New York State Of Blues 08:07

07 - Young Folks' Blues (feat. Ana Popovic) 06:53

Gamble for more Michael Hill's Blues Mob

No comments: