Wednesday, January 13, 2016

Saffire - The Uppity Blues Women 1990 Saffire - The Uppity Blues Women

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:42:41
Size: 97,58 MB

United States

Review by Scott Yanow

In 1984, three middle-aged women (guitarist Gaye Adegbalola, bassist Earlene Lewis and pianist Ann Rabson) came together to play blues as Saffire. Their 1990 Alligator CD is still Saffire's best all-around recording. Even overlooking the novelty of three women giving a female and middle-aged slant to the blues, this is a highly enjoyable and musical set. Assisted on three numbers by Mark Wenner's harmonica, Saffire plays spirited versions of such tunes as "Middle Aged Blues Boogie," "Even Yuppies Get the Blues," "Fess Up When You Mess Up," "I Almost Lost My Mind" and their theme "Wild Women Don't Have the Blues." Recommended.


01 - Middle Aged Blues Boogie 05:42

02 - Take It On Back 02:37

03 - Annie's Blues 03:58

04 - Even Yuppies Get The Blues 02:43

05 - Drown In My Own Tears 05:42

06 - Three Time Loser 03:34

07 - Fess Up When You Mess Up 03:33

08 - Silent Thunder In My Heart 03:20

09 - School Teacher's Blues 03:39

10 - I Almost Lost My Mind 05:11

11 - Wild Women Don't Have The Blues 02:42

Gamble for more Saffire - The Uppity Blues Women


No comments: