Saturday, January 16, 2016

Magic Slim & The Teardrops 2010 Raising The Bar

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:44:52
Size: 102,61 MB

United States

Veteran blues man extraordinaire, Magic Slim has not missed a beat, skipped a bar, omitted a lick, nor released a bad record in.....ever! His latest is no exception.

As much as I love the blues and as much as I love the Memphis to Chicago Style of the blues, which generally possess amazing horn sections, I also adore the simplicity of the blues. On Magic Slim's latest, "Raising the Bar", he does just that. He raises the bar while keeping it simple.

What we have here are four musicians doing what they love. Magic Slim is of course on vocals and guitar. Jon McDonald also lends his expertise on guitar and background vocals. Andre Howard and BJ Jones bind it all together respectively on bass guitar and drums as well as also singing background vocals.

You can hear how much Magic Slim has influenced young blues men along with up and coming rockers. He does it all and he does it all without missing anything. He proves, yet once again, that when it comes to playing the blues, sometimes simple is best. After all, the blues originated with just a guy singing and playing his guitar. This is just like that with the addition of electricity.

This record consists of and amazing compilation of blues songs. Songs such as Clay Hammond's "Part Time Love", Al Jackson, Jr's and Timothy Matthews' "Breaking Up Somebody's Home", Elmore James' "I Can't Hold It", and many others.

Magic Slim's voice was meant to do nothing else but sing the blues and his fingers were meant to do nothing but pick the blues on his guitar. It is obvious to the listener both instruments are quite simply, and extension of his soul.

This is a record any blues aficionado should have in their library. However, this is also a record anyone with an ear for great music will immensely enjoy! ('Rebel' Rod Ames)


01 - Part Time Love 03:52

02 - Breaking Up Somebody's Home 04:33

03 - Do You Mean It 03:29

04 - Cummins Prison Farm 04:55

05 - Mama Talk To Your Daughter 03:07

06 - I Can't Hold Out 03:33

07 - Shame 03:59

08 - Sunny Road Blues 05:34

09 - Gonna Move To Kansas City 03:41

10 - 4:59 A.M. 04:07

11 - Treat Me The Way You Do 04:02

Gamble for more Magic Slim & The Teardrops


No comments: