Sunday, January 24, 2016

Garland Jeffreys 1973 Garland Jeffreys

Genre: Soul
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:44:00
Size: 100,70 MB

United States

Garland Jeffreys' 1973 solo debut on Atlantic, his only album for the label, displayed the same mix of rock, soul, folk and reggae that he would wield with greater success for A&M and Epic later in his career. But what this album had that the others didn't was an incredible line-up of backing musicians, including Dr. John, David Bromberg, Paul Griffin, David "Fathead" Newman, Richard Davis, Patti Austin, Lori Burton and even noted producer John Simon.

Given that kind of talent, and the strong batch of songs Garland brought into the studio, that this album didn't click commercially remains a mystery; indeed, in the liner notes producer Michael Cuscuna labels its lack of success "One of the major disappointments of my career, even to today."


01 - Ballad Of Me 03:00

02 - Harlem Bound 03:57

03 - Calcutta Monsoon 05:03

04 - Bound To Get Ahead Someday 03:57

05 - Lovelight 04:26

06 - She Didn't Lie 06:02

07 - True To Me 02:37

08 - Lon Chaney 04:10

09 - Eggs 05:13

10 - Zoo 02:22

11 - Midnite Cane 03:13

Gamble for more Garland Jeffreys

No comments: