Saturday, December 5, 2015

The Cadillac Kings 2008 Trouble In Store

Genre: Blues
Rate: 207 kbps VBR / 44100
Time: 00:51:51
Size: 75,09 MB

United Kingdom

If you have enjoyed the Cadillac Kings' live shows or their previous CD releases then you will not be disappointed, in fact you will be excited as this is their best release to date. The Cadillac Kings are firmly rooted in the jump and jive of the 1940s and 1950s however they are much more than copyists as the band has a distinctly modern twist.

All the soloists are stand out players but they all understand that the song is the king and that a song is not just a vehicle for individual soloists. This leads to a very well rounded unit with each band member playing his role in the overall sound and each person knowing when not to play. The rhythm section is led by ace drummer Roy Webber who is in the top echelon of UK blues drummers and TC Copp on the double bass. Without reading the liner notes, you would never guess that these guys are not Americans.

Mike Thomas is the main songwriter for the band and, once again, has excelled himself in delivering a set of wry and witty lyrics commenting on the foibles and peculiarities of the modern world. For my money Thomas is the best songwriter working in this genre in the UK. As a rule I don't normally make comparisons to other artists, however in this instance I have to make reference to Louis Jordan and Rick Estrin, of whom I am always reminded when I listed to Thomas' songs.

The CD opens with the harp-led fast shuffle of "Too Blue" in which Mike Thomas tells his lady friend that no matter what else he feels, he will always love her.

"Sugar Rush" has a Lazy Lester/T-Birds groove and is a tough shuffle in which Mike's red-hot girlfriend is likened to Belgian chocolate and French patisserie.

"Hot Rod V8 Ford" is a song from harp player Gary Potts and is a 40s style jump blues led by Mike Adcock's classy piano, telling the story about Potts' real-life passion for American Hot Rod cars. This song also features a sweet guitar solo from Mal Barclay.

"Around the Block" describes the advantages of the older man with great solos from Potts and Barclay.

There are three instrumental outings lead by the three excellent soloists. "Blue Cap Bounce" by guitarist Barclay is a guitar-led swing, "Tongue Tied" is a harp-led fast shuffle with great playing from Potts, Adcock and Barclay and "North Sea Jump" is a classic boogie woogie led by Adcock on the piano.

I could go on describing the great performances in delivering the rest of the great songs on this CD but I will resist the temptation to describe the duelling guitars of "Chief of Police", the New Orleans piano of "Stop Digging That Hole", the 40's style walking shuffle of "Fries With That", the accordion led zydeco shuffle of "Less is More" and the other top tunes. Each song is as strong as the last and it is impossible to pick a favourite.

Remember bigger snacks mean wider slacks (Ken Peace)


01 - Too Blue 02:59

02 - She's My Sugar Rush 03:26

03 - Hot Rod V8 Ford 02:45

04 - Around The Block 05:03

05 - Blue Cap Bounce 02:32

06 - (I'm In Love With The) Chief Of Police 04:29

07 - Stop Digging That Hole 03:04

08 - Tongue-Tied 02:41

09 - Fries With That 03:04

10 - Less Is More 03:23

11 - Mr Nip And Tuck 04:01

12 - North Sea Jump 03:04

13 - Chain Gang Boogie 04:28

14 - Trouble In Store 04:11

15 - Mama Drop The Hammer 02:41

Gamble for more The Cadillac Kings


No comments: