Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Johnny Sansone 1998 Watermelon Patch

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:49:40
Size: 113,67 MB

United States

Review by Ann Wickstrom

Johnny Sansone is a bit of a jack of all trades: writing, singing, and playing masterful accordion, harmonica, and guitar. All of these tunes are originals, a similarly wide-ranging mix of Louisiana roots-rock, zydeco, and traditional blues. He enlisted some top-drawer New Orleans musicians for Watermelon Patch, including saxophonists from the Iguanas, organist Joe Krown (Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown), and pianist Jon Cleary (B.B. King, Bonnie Raitt, Taj Mahal); meanwhile, the rhythm section of bassist Dave Ranson and drummer Kenneth Blevins drove John Hiatt's Slow Turning album. Most of this release was cut live, in only one day.

"Think of Me" is a rapid-fire, accordion-fueled zydeco tune with a nice guitar solo from Rick Olivarez. The title cut features some bluesy harp. "Look at Us Now" and "Loveline" showcase some nice horn playing, especially the accents from trumpet man Duke Heitger. Sansone pulls out the chromatic harp on "Pig's Feet & Tailmeat," "Stinkbait" and "Quagmire," the latter centered on a Latin-flavored jungle drum beat. "Stink Bait" is a tough, slow instrumental. "Civilized City" is pure twelve-bar Chicago blues, and "Comin' for Sure" is another zydeco-flavored track, but this time Olivarez takes to the slide guitar. Sansone is originally from New Jersey and didn't settle in New Orleans until 1989, but you'd never know it from listening to Watermelon Patch. He clearly has found his geographical and musical home.


01 - Think Of Me 02:49

02 - Watermelon Patch 04:00

03 - Look At Us Now 03:27

04 - Quagmire 03:45

05 - Comin' For Sure 03:55

06 - Mon Fleur 02:57

07 - The Bridge 05:09

08 - Pig's Feet And Tail Meat 03:02

09 - Civilized City 04:10

10 - Loveline 04:06

11 - Upside Of Low Down 04:07

12 - Stink Bait 02:48

13 - Neutral Ground 05:25

Gamble for more Johnny Sansone


No comments: