Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Al Kooper & Mike Bloomfield 1968 The Lost Concert Tapes

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:00:02
Size: 137,44 MB

United States

My copies of Fillmore East Lost tapes arrived today via Amazon. All I can say is that sometimes when you have anticipated something for a long time you can become afraid that it can't possibly live up to your built up expectations. No fear this time. The lost album is indescribable. What a treasure to hear Kooper and Bloomfield together again!

After wearing out copies of Super Session and Super Session live on Vinyl, 8 track, cassette, and CD, to actually hear this new material was like the closest thing to time travel that I expect to ever get. On Al Kooper's web site he mentions how this album would be a real find for Bloomfield fans, well he wasn't just kidding. From the get go Mike sounds focused, sober and on a mission. The guitar duet with Johnny Winter is worth the whole album. Mike's playing of "Don't throw your love on me so strong" is turned up several notches from the original live Super Session and his vocals are heartfelt.

After 35 years, the unearthing of this material is a most welcome widening of our perspective on some legendary music making. So set out some incense, break out your black light posters and back issues of Zap comix and don't miss it. (Ginna Wall)


01 - Introductions 01:27

02 - One Way Out 04:21

03 - Mike's Introduction Of Johnny Winter 00:59

04 - It's My Own Fault (With Johnny Winter) 10:57

05 - 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy) 06:16

06 - (Please) Tell Me Partner 10:11

07 - That's All Right Mama 03:40

08 - Together Till The End Of Time 04:30

09 - Don't Throw Your Love On Me So Strong 08:41

10 - Season Of The Witch 09:00

Gamble for more Al Kooper & Mike Bloomfield

No comments: