Thursday, November 12, 2015

Luther Allison 2002 Pay It Forward

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 01:07:59
Size: 155,57 MB

United States

Thomas Ruf has done a great service to all Luther Allison fans in releasing this collection of rare studio and live performances. They are not all classics, but they do illustrate that Luther's time in Europe was one of great fertility and prowess, and before an adoring fan base he took them to places of joy with the blues that they likely never imagined attainable.

There are studio takes with Joanna Connor that are great R & B workouts, there is a bit of sentimentality with his son, Bernard, and the live tracks are all killer. Luther live was a force to be reckoned with and his European bands were as formidable as any collection that ever called South Chicago home. The liner notes are warm reminiscences by those who knew him or production notes from Ruf himself. This is clearly the work of a man who misses his very close friend.

You will not be disappointed with anything on the CD. It tends to underscore how tragic it was that just as Luther was gaining the recognition for creativity, innovation and passion in the States that were already legendary in Europe and Africa, that his life would be cut short. But this is no commercial rip-off. In fact, its very quality, like everything about Luther Allison, shows you just how short changed you are by other artists' outtakes.

This isn't where you start if you have an interest in Luther Allison, but it is a nice way to remeber a great friend to the blues. (o dubhthaigh)


01 - I Wanna Be With You 04:17

02 - Still Called The Blues 05:33

03 - Dock Of The Bay 08:18

04 - Just As I Am 05:09

05 - Nobody But You 03:43

06 - Perfume & Grime 08:04

07 - Cherry Red Wine 04:24

08 - Idols In Mind 04:25

09 - Hoochie Coochie Man 08:19

10 - Slipping Away 05:27

11 - Love Is Free 05:47

12 - Hidden Track 04:33

Gamble for more Luther Allison

No comments: