Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Jimmy Dawkins 1969 Fast Fingers

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:50:40
Size: 115,91 MB

United States

Review by Stewart Mason

First released in 1969, after guitarist Jimmy Dawkins had served a long apprenticeship as a sideman in the Chicago electric blues scene, Fast Fingers remains one of the finest pure electric blues albums of its era. Dawkins proves to be a solid songwriter and an able singer, although the best moments on the album invariably come when he tears off a casually perfect, deeply soulful, but never showy electric solo. Highlights include the stomping instrumental "Triple Trebles," featuring an outstanding Dawkins solo over a funky horn-driven rhythm, and the mellow, laid-back opener, "It Serves Me Right to Suffer." The album was finally reissued on CD in 1998 with a new cover and two fine outtakes from the original sessions, "Sad and Blues" (which features an exceptional extended solo by Dawkins) and "Back Home Blues," which is a 1969 recording with a new (1998) vocal by Dawkins.


01 - It Serves Me Right To Suffer 04:08

02 - I Wonder Why 03:06

03 - I'm Good For Nothing 05:13

04 - Triple Trebles 02:43

05 - I Finally Learned A Lesson 03:44

06 - You Got To Keep On Trying 04:13

07 - Night Rock 03:26

08 - Little Angel Girl 03:56

09 - I Don't Know What Love Is 05:58

10 - Breaking Down 05:31

11 - Sad And Blues (Previously Unissued) 04:52

12 - Back Home Blues (Previously Unissued) 03:50

Gamble for more Jimmy Dawkins

No comments: