Sunday, November 1, 2015

Billie Holiday 1959 Last Recording

Genre: Jazz
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:37:22
Size: 85,51 MB

United States

This is a poignant and at times terrifying album. Billie, reunited with Ray Ellis of "Lady in Satin," lays down her soul and offers a multi-dimensional glimpse into the private anguish of a transcendental artist. At the time of these recordings (March, 1959), Billie had less than 5 months to live and her voice reflects years of physical and emotional abuse (some self-inflicted). It doesn't matter. Her abilities to transcend lyrics and infuse songs with feeling are never more apparent. At times her voice wavers and she struggles for breath, but her soul shines through. These are some extremely moving tracks. Ray Ellis' orchestration is less cloying than in "Lady In Satin" and has more of a jazz feeling. Particularly moving are "Don't Worry About Me", "I'll Never Smile Again" and "All The Way".

This is not the Billie of Columbia or Decca days. The voice has deteriorated to an ember of what it was. But Billie was always known as an artist with an uncanny ability of wearing her soul on her sleeve and the deterioration of her voice only crystallizes how effective she was in conveying feeling. This is one of the most indispensable albums in my collection. A moving and at times heartbreaking glimpse into the soul of one of the 20th Century's greatest interpreters of song. Don't miss it! (Nostalgia Buff)


01 - All Of You 02:33

02 - Sometimes I'm Happy 02:50

03 - You Took Advantage Of Me 03:12

04 - When It's Sleepy Time Down South 04:08

05 - There'll Be Some Changes Made 02:56

06 - 'Deed I Do 02:18

07 - Don't Worry 'bout Me 03:12

08 - All The Way 03:26

09 - Just One More Chance 03:48

10 - It's Not For Me To Say 02:29

11 - I'll Never Smile Again 03:27

12 - Baby, Won't You Please Come Back 03:03

Gamble for more Billie Holiday

No comments: