Saturday, September 5, 2015

Shawn Pittman 2010 Too Hot

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:56:29
Size: 129,15 MB

United States

Too Hot (not a slow Blues song on it!) was recorded in 2009 in a studio in Italy on Pittman and the band’s only day off from his tenth tour across the pond. They recorded “live” in the studio and knocked out 15 songs!

Too Hot’s title track is radio-ready. It is the Jerry “Boogie” McCain number that was the impetus for the recording session in Italy. The Italian back up band is solid across all 15 original and cover songs adding bass, drums, and harmonica. “Too Hot’s” tasty harp work is eclipsed only by Pittman’s scorching guitar runs. Another McCain song, “Geronimo Rock” is laid down as a dance floor filling rip snorting Texas shuffle. Larry Williams's “Slow Down” is anything but slow with its chooga-chooga, freight train out of control rhythm and smoldering guitar solo.

Overall, Pittman is a master of his guitar in playing the recognized styles of the Lone Star State. Thankfully, Pittman is not one to overplay in tedious, too-long solos, and he keeps song times averaging four minutes. You’ll hear influences of the Vaughan brothers, Albert King, Smokin' Joe Kubek, Jim Suhler, and Mike Morgan. Pittman's songs usually rely on a guitar powered trio, but Texas means occasional keyboards like in Undeniable’s “Blues for Juanita” with Shawn himself on piano. (James "Skyy Dobro" Walker)


01 - How Many More Years 03:22

02 - Secret Weapon 03:24

03 - The Same Thing Could Happen To You 02:34

04 - Slow Down 04:27

05 - Geronimo Rock 03:02

06 - Next Door Neighbor 02:46

07 - Lookin' Good 04:14

08 - My Love Is Here To Stay 03:17

09 - Can't Stand To See You Go 03:22

10 - Play A Little While 03:45

11 - Business Man 04:08

12 - Where You Get Your Sugar From 04:11

13 - Burnin' Up 05:38

14 - Reap What You Sow 04:41

15 - Too Hot 03:38

Gamble for more Shawn Pittman


No comments: