Friday, August 14, 2015

Mason Ruffner 1999 You Can't Win

Genre: Blues
Rate: 320 kbps CBR / 44100
Time: 00:52:47
Size: 120,79 MB

United States

A former sideman for Bob Dylan with a couple of acclaimed solo records under his belt, Ruffner moved to Memphis about a year ago at the urging of Keith Sykes. He quickly formed a band made up of some of the city's best players -- chiefly, bassist Dave Smith, keyboardist Parker Card, drummer Bo Harris, and horn players Art Edmaiston and Scott Thompson.

Now, with Sykes behind the board, Ruffner has produced You Can't Win, a record of Memphis-fied Texas blues. The simple, laid back rhythm section and catchy horn phrases recall Stax and '50s style Memphis blues, but Ruffner's six-string work stands atop it all to give the album's 13 tracks their distinctive feel. Anyone who has seen him live knows Ruffner has fire, but here he follows his band's lead and emphasizes feel and tasteful playing. The result is a gently rocking, deeply grooving blues record captured with appropriate restraint by Sykes. (Mark Jordan)


01 - Love Don't Love Nobody 04:16

02 - Ruler Of The World 04:16

03 - Mama's Girl 04:44

04 - Can't Stop Lovin' You 03:01

05 - Let Me Down Easy 03:53

06 - Back In The Alley 04:23

07 - Dee Blues 05:07

08 - Keep Your Light On For Me 03:52

09 - Highway Blues 04:30

10 - You Got My Number 04:03

11 - Break Out 03:14

12 - Loaded Dice 03:53

13 - Keep On Holdin' On 03:35

Gamble for more Mason Ruffner


No comments: